Sanas

  • Now for something a little different, This is a track that reminds me of a well in the Co. Kildare, and the layer of lime that it would leave inside the kettle on those evenings of many cups of tea by the fire.

    There was this AGA that got hauled up onto the first floor and at some point it got connected to the radiators via a pump and a thermostat. It would get hotter and hotter and then the pump would kick in. It used to make the heating pipes go off with a hell of rattle and clatter in the mornings. I’d open my eyes as the first hot morning rush was mixing with the cold of the night before, then the sound of water in the pipes would fade away leaving the calming sound of the river outside the window. That river would by times be rushing by the wall about 2 feet away from me, and sometimes above me. By times there would be a musician or more warming up in the room above.

    I really haven’t the words or the writing skills to describe what I feel when I think of those times. Sunrises, sunsets, solstices and nights of hopes and dreams, walks in the snow, rants and chats, loves and fights, the success contained within failure. And still, it all moves on, new people, new things, a new life every day as I wake up from the nostalgic dream.

    Yet, I miss you all.

  • Not such an auld tape, or even an old tape, this is from a fella called Barry Moore, part of an album called Sanas, (that only you, me and a few other privileged folks know about) a track called Forgiveness:

    (the album was finished later in England and released as Salty Heaven by Luka Bloom. This is the only thing I’ve posted so far that I didn’t have a lot to do with, not directly anyway. Still, I happen to prefer it to the final version and I think it should be out there. It’s pure.)

About auldtapes

Recordings from the late 80's and early 90's, made in dublin and thereabouts, rescued from cassettes and DAT's found in me mum's attic. If you have a copyright type problem (you gotta be kidding!) with any of these recordings being online here, then contact me and I'll move them somewhere else :)
This entry was posted in DAT and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

